This year Wealden Sailability lost two of its biggest supporters when Bob Marsh and Brian McCormick died. The Trustees decided that a great way of remembering these lovely people and brilliant sailors, as they were, is to establish two new racing trophies in their names.

So, from 2019 onwards, WS Racers are competing for the Bob Marsh Trophy and the Brian McCormick Trophy.

Having been presented in 2018 with the Peter Hazlewood Trophy, this means that WS Racers are competing for three cups – across the whole season – a well as the Spring and Summer Series.

Winners of these Trophies for 2019 Based on the best 12 finishes in the 21 races sailed

Peter Hazlewood Trophy – The best sailor (single or double handed)

  • Mike Blatchford

Bob Marsh Trophy – The best single-handed sailor

  • Mike Blatchford

Brian McCormick Trophy – The best double-handed sailor

  • Mark Cayzer


The Trustees recognise that the composition of the WS Racing fleet has recently changed and is likely to change in the future, and hence the criteria for assessing the winners of the Trophies may change. If so the criteria will be announced at the start of the new season.

Click here for full details of all the WS Racing Results for 2019

2 comments on “WS Racing – New Trophies in 2019 and the Winners

  • A great achievement Mike well done!
    And what about “The Plonka”!! I’m proud to have sailed with you Mark on one or your races (probably the one that earned you the championship!!?) so many congratulations to you – you deserve it!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.